The two-stage open architectural Competition that has no restrictions in the number of participants and is aimed at young Ukrainian professionals under the age of 35.

The competition is fee free.

The competition is held in two stages:
1st stage — selection of TOP-10 finalists projects by international jury voting;
2st stage — presentation of TOP-10 finalists projects in the framework of the CANactions Festival 2020, determination of winners and awards.
Within the framework of the CANactions International Architecture Festival 2020 the 12th Youth Competition will take place.
Launched in 2009 by the Dessau Institute of Architecture (DIA / Germany) the Competition has become a professional "path to Europe" for Ukrainian students and young professionals.
Since 2009 more than 1000 projects have been received, among which 118 finalist projects have been selected by members of the international jury.
As a result, more than 40 finalists of the Competition received special honors and awards from partners; 24 young architects got the opportunity to get a the Master Degree in Architecture at DIA (Dessau) on a preferential basis.


Application deadline
Top-10 finalists announcement
Top-10 finalists projects presentation

  • the Competition is open for students and graduates (specialization - Architecture) of the Architectural departments of the Ukrainian higher education institutions;
  • bachelor degree is obliged;
  • age restriction — up to 35 years old, inclusively;
  • english high skills are necessary;
  • author or member of the collective can participate;
  • CANactions School 2020 team members cannot participate.

  • one participant may submit unlimited number of projects filling in the application form for each project separately;
  • the theme of architectural projects are not limited (graduate as well as competition projects, studios and other types of projects may be submitted);
  • TOP-10 finalist projects 2019 cannot be submitted to the Competition;
  • only one author (with involvement not least than 33%) from collective authorship can submit the project; in this case, the applicant is obliged to provide the Competition organizers with the scanned copy of the collective members' agreement. In the online application form, one must specify all the members of the author's team and their percentage of involvement in the project design. The organizer does not consider controversies regarding authorship.
  • the organizer has the right to use projects for non-commercial purposes.
  • copyright is owned by project author (s).
[In case of passing to the 2nd stage of the Competition the finalist will be informed about the Competition template and project presentation requirements.]
The application is over
AWARD from DIA (Dessau Institute of Architecture) for Shcherbina Andrii (project XXX777 "Moment of place", Odessa State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture)
AWARD from CANactions School for Pozharska Valeriia (project IAW020 "Mobile medical center", Kyiv National University of Building and Architecture)
AWARD from EASA (Europe Architecture Students Assembly) for Khymytsia Olha (project OKH162 "ReFrame", Lviv Polytechnic National University)
AWARD from ArchDaily for Semibratova Mariia (project SMS212 "Reworking of Podil Area. A project for cohabitation and coworking", Kyiv National University of Building and Architecture (KNUBA)
AWARD from JUNG Ukraine for Burko Nataliia (project REC060 "Concept of evolutional transformation and reconstruction of residential micro-areas 1960s.", Lviv Polytechnic National University)


AWARD — from DIA (Dessau Institute of Architecture)
— the opportunity to get a Master Degree
4 Semester Tuition Waiver + 1 flight return per year to Ukraine
* review regarding the grade average after 1st year. If it is below 2.0 the scholarship ends altogether including any flights.
AWARD — from CANactions School
— participation in the international educational program CANactions School 2020/2021 out of the competition

AWARD from EASA (Europe Architecture Students Assembly)
— participation* out of the EASA open-call at the two-week "EASA Apathy" 2020 in Valga, Estonia as a ukrainian team member
— the aim of the EASA Apathy 2020 Assembly is to explore architectural ideas and urban planning strategies for depopulated and apathetic cities.
* the team of organizers and the EASA network cover the Youth Competition winner's accommodation and food costs during the event (the winner has to buy tickets to and from the EASA Apathy 2020 venue on his/her own)

AWARDfrom ArchDaily
— pubication of the winner's project on the ArchDaily website.

AWARD from JUNG Ukraine
— visit* to Germany to the JUNG headquarters in Schalksmühle (Sauerland)

* the company covers the Youth Competition winner's flight to Frankfurt and back, travel insurance, accommodation and meals; the trip dates are open, the duration of the visit is approx. 3 days.


ArchDaily / CL
David Basulto
Founder & CEO
CANactions School, Locument, / UA, PT
Romea Muryń
CANactions School Program Director, co-founder of the studio Locument, researcher, architect, urban planner
Center for Contemporary Culture of Barcelona (CCCB) / ES
David Bravo Bordas
Architect, urban planner
Mistodiya / UА
Dmytro Isaiev
Architect, curator, project manager and co-founder of NGO Mistodiya.
Pareid Architects / UK
Déborah López
Architect, Teaching Fellow at The Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London.
[phase eins]. / DE
Xenia Pasternak
Architect, project manager, competition coordinator
Hello Wood / HU
András Huszár
CEO, architect, co-founder Hello Wood
Planwerk / RO
Benjamin Kohl
architect and urban planner
Planwerk / RO
Tiberiu Ciolacu
architect and urban planner
ArchDaily / CL
David Basulto
Founder & CEO
CANactions School, Locument / UA, PT
Romea Muryń
CANactions School Program Director, co-founder of the studio Locument, researcher, architect, urban planner
Architectural Prescription, CANactions School / NL, UA
Grisha Zotov
Architect, Architectural Prescription founder, CANactions School co-founder
Prof. Ralf Niebergall
Architect, Professor at Anhalt University in Dessau, program director of its international master program „Architecture (DIA)"
Amsterdam Academy of Architecture / NL
Jan-Richard Kikkert
Architect, head of Architecture at the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture, Architectenbureau K2 founder
JUNG Ukraine / UA
Rytis Misevičius
Director of JUNG Ukraine
EASA Ukraine / UA
Herman Mitish
Architect, head of EASA Ukraine



competition coordinator - Olena Kozakova